OKLAHOMA CITY COMMUNITY FOUNDATION, INC.

1300 North Broadway Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73103 Telephone (405) 235-5621

JOHN E. KIRKPATRICK President S. N. GOLDMAN Vice President MRS. ELEANOR MAURER Treas. & Asst. Sec. C. D. ELLISON Sec. & Gen. Counsel GENE WHITE Executive Director

NEWSLETTER

October, 1970

The Oklahoma City Community Foundation has set a fast pace of growth during the past 60 days. There are now 17 funds established and working to accumulate earnings which will be available for deserving local projects. Those establishing funds include: Mr. B. D. Eddie, Mr. Gene Eddie, Mr. R. A. Macklanburg, Jr., Mr. Howard Bozarth, Mr. & Mrs. M. A. Swatek Fund, Mr. James G. Harlow, Jr., Mr. Donald S. Kennedy, Mr. Wayne A. Parker, Mr. & Mrs. Jack T. Conn, Mr. J. B. Saunders, Mr. Jasper Ackerman, Mr. George Shirk, Mr. R. A. Young, the Oklahoma City Allergy Clinic Foundation, Mr. Ben K. West, the Oklahoma City Opera Association, and Mr. & Mrs. John E. Kirkpatrick.

A GOOD EXAMPLE

The gift of J. D. "Jasper" Ackerman is a good example of how the Oklahoma City Community Foundation may be used. Mr. Ackerman requested that the earnings of his gift of \$25,000 be made available annually to the National Cowboy Hall of Fame for capital or program improvements. The objective of establishing this fund was to motivate other Trustees of the National Cowboy Hall of Fame throughout the United States to contribute, through gifts and wills to perpetuate the support of this institution.

NEW BOARD MEMBER

The nine member Board of Trustees of the Community Foundation lost a valued friend when Dr. James L. Dennis resigned his position as Executive Vice President of the University of Oklahoma Medical Center to accept a new position at the University of Arkansas Medical Center. Dr. John P. Colmore, interim director at the Medical Center, and successor to Doctor Dennis, succeeds him also on the Board of Trustees of the Community Foundation.